World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen voted 'Name of the Year 2013' by Norwegian Sports Journalists ~ World Chess Championship 2013 Viswanathan Anand vs Magnus Carlsen at Chennai Hyatt Regency

Saturday, January 4, 2014

World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen voted 'Name of the Year 2013' by Norwegian Sports Journalists

Posted by World Chess Championship 2013 News Blog Saturday, January 4, 2014
World Chess Magnus Carlsen of Norway continues to wow experts and fans alike. Norway sports journalists have also voted World Chess Champion the Sportsperson of 2013: The Name of Sports 2013, to be specific. This is the first time a chess player (as expected) has been voted to the title by the journalists. 

Norwegian news agency NTB has reported that Norwegian Sports Journalists' Association voted for the chess prodigy ahead of Suzann Pettersen - Norway's golf queen! 
The award is given out annually in Norway since its inception in 1948. The final votes' list was: 1) Magnus Carlsen, chess 147 points, 2) Suzann Pettersen, golf 98, 3) Tora Berger, biathlon 24, 4) Marit Bjoergen, cross 22, 5) Aksel Lund Svindal, Alpine 17, 6) UEFA Europa Svendsen, biathlon 14, 7) Mats Zuccarello Aasen, ice hockey 13, 8) Anders Bardal jumps 8, 9) Strømsgodset soccer 5, 10) Karl-Erik Bohn, handball 4, 11) Cecilia Brækhus, boxing, Carl Yngvar Christiansen, powerlifting, Johaug, cross country and Egil Olsen, football 1

The winners since 2000:2013: Magnus Carlsen, chess
2012: Tora Berger, biathlon
2011: Alexander Dale Oen, swimming
2010: Thor Hushovd, cycling
2009: Petter Northug, cross country
2008: Andreas Thorkildsen, athletics
2007: Aksel Lund Svindal, alpine ski racer
2006: Kjetil André Aamodt, alpine ski racer
2005: Marit Bjoergen, cross country
2004: Andreas Thorkildsen, athletics
2003: Petter Solberg, motorsport
2002: Ole Einar Bjoerndalen, biathlon
2001: Olaf Tufte, rowing
2000: Trine Hattestad, athletics.